Day 2097 Unplugged Summer- Wildflower Festival- almost.

I have decided that this summer, Emily and I are not going to sit around the house doing chores and staring at TV and computer screens. We’re going to be doing… lots of different things. Today, I planned to take us out to Reflection Riding for the Spring WIldflower Festival and we especially wanted to get there in time for the guided Shakespearian Wildflower tour.

I goofed. It was printed in the paper as this weekend but it is actually scheduled for next weekend.

None the less, she and I went for our own walk on the trails- Come with us!

The Participants
Photobucket

Pretty Rocky!
Photobucket

Squirrel
Photobucket

Not entirely lacking the human touch
Photobucket

Wildflowers
Photobucket

Bluebells
Photobucket

Camillias
Photobucket

Redbud
Photobucket

Fuzzy Cowslips
Photobucket

I don’t know what this flower is
Photobucket

Primrose
Photobucket

Trilliums
Photobucket

Happy Barn
Photobucket

Em and Elias
Photobucket

Yellow spring flowers
Photobucket

Spooky Bamboo forest
Photobucket

Entering the Forest
Photobucket

Lookout Mountain’s cliffs hold a legend. From the western side of the mountain, the cliffs look somewhat like a man’s profile. Cherokees believed it was the likeness of an elderly chief from prehistoric times. As he neared death, he prayed that his tribe would not be forgotten and so the Great Spirit carved his face into the mountain. These cliffs, called “Father Rock”, were sacred to the Cherokees.

Em looking through the Cherokee Eye Rock
Photobucket

What we saw
Photobucket

Stone Wall
Photobucket

We are not alone!
Photobucket

Back to human territory
Photobucket

Fireplace
Photobucket

Pond Lilies
Photobucket

Sleeping Wolves
Photobucket

Bobcat washing- he’s not much bigger than Alex!
Photobucket

People Nest
Photobucket

Photobucket

Tree House
Photobucket

It has fabulous stained glass windows, carved coloumns on the inside, the back door is a metal work tree and all along the railing- both coming and going- are silhouette cut outs of people who made the tree house possible.

Posted next to the door :

    A Tree House

    A tree house, a free house,
    A secret you and me house,
    A high up in the leafy branches
    Cozy as can be house.

    A street house, a neat house,
    Be sure and wipe your feet house
    Is not my kind of house at all~
    Let’s go live in a tree house.

    Shel Silverstein

Where will we be next? I don’t know but it’s going to be fun!

This entry was posted in Come for a walk with me and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

14 Responses to Day 2097 Unplugged Summer- Wildflower Festival- almost.

  1. Anonymous says:

    Lovely and I bet it is more lovely when all the flowers are blooming. It looks so peaceful. I hope you and Em had a wonderful day.

    • Anonymous says:

      We did have… although Em kept saying she was tired, let’s go back. She’s spent too long as a couch potato.

  2. Lovely and I bet it is more lovely when all the flowers are blooming. It looks so peaceful. I hope you and Em had a wonderful day.

  3. Anonymous says:

    How beautiful and peaceful! And what a wonderful idea for the two of you!

    • Anonymous says:

      It was fun! When you visit, we’ll find something fun on the calendar too- there’s tons of stuff that I don’t know why I never explored!

  4. zenkitty_714 says:

    How beautiful and peaceful! And what a wonderful idea for the two of you!

    • wren08 says:

      It was fun! When you visit, we’ll find something fun on the calendar too- there’s tons of stuff that I don’t know why I never explored!

  5. Anonymous says:

    Wow, what a lovely day! I think the little purple flower is either a periwinkle or a vinca.

    • Anonymous says:

      I don’t know- a lot of them weren’t labeled outside the garden and I’m not that good with wildflowers! I just enjoyed them without worrying if I could name them

  6. meguey says:

    Wow, what a lovely day! I think the little purple flower is either a periwinkle or a vinca.

    • wren08 says:

      I don’t know- a lot of them weren’t labeled outside the garden and I’m not that good with wildflowers! I just enjoyed them without worrying if I could name them

  7. Anonymous says:

    Hey Gretchen looks like you had a great time! I can’t wait to hear about it Monday! c.

  8. Anonymous says:

    Hey Gretchen looks like you had a great time! I can’t wait to hear about it Monday! c.

Leave a Reply

