Oh, I forgot!

Happy Beltane/May Day/Derby Day to everyone!

To assist you in your traditional enjoyment of the day, I offer the following recipe:

Orginal 1912 Mint Julep

3-4 mint leaves
4 tsp powdered sugar
3 oz bourbon whiskey
club soda

Place mint in glass with powdered sugar and 1/2oz bourbon and “muddle” into a paste with wooden muddler.

Fill with ice and remainder (2 1/2 oz) of Bourbon then fill with club soda (not tap water).

Serve in a Collins Glass or Julip Glass (Julip glasses are those metal ones).

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to Oh, I forgot!

  1. Anonymous says:

    and the same to you 🙂 Love the recipe, thanks for sharing that. 🙂

  2. wren08 says:

    But of course! What is Derby Day without Mint Julips?

  3. Anonymous says:

    I haven’t tried his recipe for mint julep, but I love the over-the-top presentation Alton Brown does on it:
    http://www.foodnetwork.com/videos/simply-delightful-mint-julep/11989.html
    The first time I saw it I wondered if he hadn’t been drinking a few of them before taping…

  4. glevryl says:

    I haven’t tried his recipe for mint julep, but I love the over-the-top presentation Alton Brown does on it:
    http://www.foodnetwork.com/videos/simply-delightful-mint-julep/11989.html
    The first time I saw it I wondered if he hadn’t been drinking a few of them before taping…

Leave a Reply

