Day 7961

This weekend was fun but tiring. I spent most of it talking on the phone with five different people, all of whom I tend to stay on the phone for hours with when I talk to because I love conversing with them. The only downside is that I was having to manage who I talked to, when and for how long without shorting anyone.

Tonight I am planning to clean out a work space in my work room for book binding and organize it and go to bed early. There is no plan to be on the telephone at any point in this plan. (“Well, what you plan and what takes place ain’t ever exactly been similar…”)

******************************************************************************************

At this point I looked at the clock, realized I was still in my bathrobe and it was time to walk out the door five minutes ago. Um, oops? I was still only 4 minutes late to work and only because I got behind a tree service vehicle.


I’m still having problems with the gilding. The traditional glair does not stick for me… and the commercial adhesive is too strong and takes too long to dry. Maybe if I thin it with some water? I also picked up a heat pen today- I’m going to try and use it for transfers and possibly for free hand gilding since I am not going to be investing thousands of dollars in gilding tools. Don’t get me wrong, I’d like to… but I don’t have that kind of money.

I have had a thought about The Flying Yorkshireman. I plan to take my copy apart, copy it onto acid free paper and bind it from loose sheets. My thought is that I’ll bind it in brown with copper edges, a coppery ribbon bookmark and coppery silk to sew up the headband (which will be real if I’m doing it from scratch). Then I’m going to see if I can bend the pages and hold them to paint a fore edge painting of Sam Small before I gild it- and decorate the cover with Sam flying on the front and the skyline from the book cover on the back. In copper.

This is going to be fun…

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to Day 7961

  1. Anonymous says:

    I’d love to talk with you, but I don’t like talking on the phone like that. Maybe we could chat via IM sometime instead.
    ~Rick

    • Anonymous says:

      That would be nice- but when and which service? I mostly tend to be on the computer very early in the morning…

  2. wolfrick says:

    I’d love to talk with you, but I don’t like talking on the phone like that. Maybe we could chat via IM sometime instead.
    ~Rick

  3. Anonymous says:

    I have absolutely no idea what you are talking about with the bookbinding, but it sounds amazing and exciting. Maybe sometime you can post pictures of the process?

    • Anonymous says:

      I will- I posted some of my practice book and when I finish Stardust I will post pictures of the whole process. 😀

  4. I have absolutely no idea what you are talking about with the bookbinding, but it sounds amazing and exciting. Maybe sometime you can post pictures of the process?

Leave a Reply

