Stardust!

I still have the back and the spine to do… but I wanted to show the front cover! The new technique works better than I had hoped….

starcover


star1

star2

star3

star4

star5

star6

star7

star8

star9

star10

I’ll have to wait until tomorrow for the spine and the back- this takes awhile! Also? Sheepskin is very stretchy.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

16 Responses to Stardust!

  1. Anonymous says:

    That’s LOVELY!

  2. Anonymous says:

    Looks great! Congrats!

    What’s your gilding technique?

    • Anonymous says:

      Believe it or not, a 750° craft heat pen and gold (or in this case, silver) leaf. I test it out on a scrap of leather left over from cutting out the binding because some leathers need sealing.

      For that, I whip up an egg white until it can’t be whipped any more, leave it overnight to separate and strain it through a piece of washed linen (which is what I use for super) and then paint down the leather with the clear liquid that’s left and let it dry.

  3. sciuro says:

    Looks great! Congrats!
    What’s your gilding technique?

    • wren08 says:

      Believe it or not, a 750° craft heat pen and gold (or in this case, silver) leaf. I test it out on a scrap of leather left over from cutting out the binding because some leathers need sealing.
      For that, I whip up an egg white until it can’t be whipped any more, leave it overnight to separate and strain it through a piece of washed linen (which is what I use for super) and then paint down the leather with the clear liquid that’s left and let it dry.

  4. Anonymous says:

    Wow. This is a most lovely marvel.

  5. encarmencita says:

    Wow. This is a most lovely marvel.

  6. Anonymous says:

    My Godfather was a professional bookbinder/golder but I hardly knew him. It left with a fascination for that, though.

    What you’re doing is GREAT!

    • Anonymous says:

      I wish I knew someone like him to learn from! I’m sure I’m reinventing the wheel from time to time just because I don’t know how to do things and have to make it up as I go.

      Thank you for the compliment!

  7. emma2403 says:

    My Godfather was a professional bookbinder/golder but I hardly knew him. It left with a fascination for that, though.
    What you’re doing is GREAT!

    • wren08 says:

      I wish I knew someone like him to learn from! I’m sure I’m reinventing the wheel from time to time just because I don’t know how to do things and have to make it up as I go.
      Thank you for the compliment!

Leave a Reply

