Day 7955

How I am up so early, I’m not sure. Ok, it’s not really early in the grand scheme of things… and it’s not really early for me… but I stayed up late last night talking on the phone. Until 4 am. And I drank wine.

While I was on the phone, I finished decorating the binding for Stardust, took pictures, posted them and cleaned up all the mess. And then commenced ripping apart The Flying Yorkshireman. At no point was I lectured for inattention or making too much noise.

Obviously I was not on the phone with 80s.

He did call and I excused myself for 20 minutes… he wanted to pick a fight because he had called me earlier in the day and I had not called him back. Do what? Wow, dude- I hate arguments so I don’t call you back when you’re in fight mode and this gives you the right to call me names? Um, no. He hung up on me three times and when he called back after the third time, I let it go to the answering machine, picked it up and hung up as soon as he started speaking. He didn’t try back until this morning and then it was to apologize. Took less than 10 minutes. I don’t think he yet has the message that I’m done with the bullshit, the co-dependency attempts and all the rest of it. If he wants to call and talk to me nicely, great. If not, there are several other people I can talk to that are more pleasant conversationalists even when he is behaving himself.

Shredder is doing well- healing up nicely etc. I haven’t seen her eating yet but she is purring when petted and I managed to get the first two doses of pain medicine in her with a minimum of stress on her part. She jumped up and ran off when she tasted it… I think it tastes nasty… but I didn’t have to fight with her. I prefer that since I don’t want to disturb her incision any more than necessary.

As I said earlier, I have torn apart The Flying Yorkshireman. It was more difficult than it had a right to be because the pages are so fragile they kept tearing in my hands. I am also going to have to figure out a numbering system to keep things straight in my head as I am not going to be able to just copy them- I am going to have to scan them, clean them up and then print them off on the archival paper I have now. So I don’t waste paper, I need to remember which pages go on the back of which other pages and that will take some organization.

P6180043

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to Day 7955

  1. Anonymous says:

    yup.. dont let someone be that abusive to you.. answering machines are wonderful things, arent they?

    dont quite get what you are doing with the books, but it sounds fun

    • Anonymous says:

      What I am doing with the books is binding in leather books that I want in leather that have never been released that way. I like good bindings very much and I find it very annoying that some of my favorite books have never been valued enough to have a fine binding. So I’m correcting that.

      On this book, I am also going to scan, clean up and reprint it onto archival paper because the pulp it’s on has deteriorated badly… and it’s been out of print so long that there are no better copies. Boo, hiss!

      So in 100 years, the only copy of this book that will still be around is the one I am making now.

  2. fabricdragon says:

    yup.. dont let someone be that abusive to you.. answering machines are wonderful things, arent they?
    dont quite get what you are doing with the books, but it sounds fun

    • wren08 says:

      What I am doing with the books is binding in leather books that I want in leather that have never been released that way. I like good bindings very much and I find it very annoying that some of my favorite books have never been valued enough to have a fine binding. So I’m correcting that.
      On this book, I am also going to scan, clean up and reprint it onto archival paper because the pulp it’s on has deteriorated badly… and it’s been out of print so long that there are no better copies. Boo, hiss!
      So in 100 years, the only copy of this book that will still be around is the one I am making now.

  3. Anonymous says:

    When we got our newest female cat spayed, they sent home a liquid pain medicine for her. It has a bittering agent in it, to stop junkies from robbing vet clinics and getting off on it.
    When we squirted the first dose in her mouth, she litterally leaped up in the air and clawed her way to freedom, despite being held down by two adults. This is not worthwhile pain medicine.
    But I discovered that the medicine is Tramadol, also known as Ultram.
    If you have a ‘scrip for Tramadol, you can break down your pills to the right (small!) dosage for your cat, and use that instead of the vile liquid.
    I see no reason you couldn’t grind the tiny amount of pill onto a small spoon of wet food or tuna or something.
    But that bitter agent is horrible stuff, and I wouldn’t make my cat take it again.
    I was using a can of “Canned Air” to clean my computer, and that stuff has a bittering agent in it to keep the kids from huffing it to get high. Well, I accidentally touched the nozzle to my face below my lip, and then later licked my lips…. and the horror of that bitter agent took over my life for about half an hour. It was vile.
    Now when I even _spray_ the canned air, I can taste the bitter agent and I’m back in that hell of drowning in it. Guh.

    • Anonymous says:

      I got three doses into her but I’m holding the last one until she acts like she is actually in pain. SHe’s doing really well so I don’t actually foresee that.

      I don’t have anything like Tramdol in the house- aleve and a couple of other simple things are about all I keep around.

  4. wolfrick says:

    When we got our newest female cat spayed, they sent home a liquid pain medicine for her. It has a bittering agent in it, to stop junkies from robbing vet clinics and getting off on it.
    When we squirted the first dose in her mouth, she litterally leaped up in the air and clawed her way to freedom, despite being held down by two adults. This is not worthwhile pain medicine.
    But I discovered that the medicine is Tramadol, also known as Ultram.
    If you have a ‘scrip for Tramadol, you can break down your pills to the right (small!) dosage for your cat, and use that instead of the vile liquid.
    I see no reason you couldn’t grind the tiny amount of pill onto a small spoon of wet food or tuna or something.
    But that bitter agent is horrible stuff, and I wouldn’t make my cat take it again.
    I was using a can of “Canned Air” to clean my computer, and that stuff has a bittering agent in it to keep the kids from huffing it to get high. Well, I accidentally touched the nozzle to my face below my lip, and then later licked my lips…. and the horror of that bitter agent took over my life for about half an hour. It was vile.
    Now when I even _spray_ the canned air, I can taste the bitter agent and I’m back in that hell of drowning in it. Guh.

    • wren08 says:

      I got three doses into her but I’m holding the last one until she acts like she is actually in pain. SHe’s doing really well so I don’t actually foresee that.
      I don’t have anything like Tramdol in the house- aleve and a couple of other simple things are about all I keep around.

Leave a Reply

