Day 7942

Eliz did me the favor of keeping Emily last night so I could go to a movie. Unfortunately, the movie I wanted to see was no longer playing anywhere (just my luck) but Eliz had already made arrangements to take time off from work so I changed my plans.

I decided to take a run downtown and have a nice cup of coffee at Greyfriar’s and maybe poke my head into All Books. I mentioned this to my friend John in Nashville and he drove down and met me for a lovely cup of coffee. All Books was closed so we spent the whole time drinking coffee and talking at the sidewalk table at Greyfriar’s. I do find that in the years that have passed, I have learned better how to take John- he confused the waitress horribly.

It was funny- I haven’t seen John in person in 33 years and yet when I saw him on the street, I recognized him. (I also haven’t seen any pictures since he’s very not into having his picture made.) I didn’t like how much he’d changed- I thought I was prepared for it but I wasn’t- but he still has lovely eyes and he’s still the same madman I knew which is what counts! This aging crap is mean to us all- I hate it.

When I had to go meet the girls to pick Em up, I dropped John by his truck and walked down to the Pickle Barrel… I was going to meet the girls on the roof. And there was a sign on the door that forbade anyone under 21 so I stood out on the sidewalk and waited on them. Which took almost an hour because there was a music and motorcycle festival going on and half the roads downtown where closed.


P7010047

P7010048

P7010049

New intelligence tells me that the festival is called Nightfall and happens all summer long. Last night was apparently Hugo with Digital Butter.

Emily and I came home and, being hungry, made a pizza which she had with root beer and I had with mojito and she didn’t get to bed until 11pm. And then she didn’t want to sleep in her bed- anywhere but. What’s up with that? I’m afraid I shouted at her about that- by this time I was VERY tired and I wanted to go to bed!

Today is a baking day. I am going to be making a Dobosh Torte, an Apple Strudel and Banana Bread. Yum!

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Day 7942

  1. Anonymous says:

    sounds lovely 🙂

  2. loucheroo says:

    sounds lovely 🙂

Leave a Reply

