Eureka!


I’ve been thinking about how I could engineer a temporary sewing frame. I don’t need a “real” sewing frame- I don’t intend to be sewing a lot of books- just this one and repairs here and there, maybe. The problem was, I kept thinking about how it might be used since I have never actually seen one in use. Then I crossed this picture:

and the way a sewing frame is used became perfectly obvious to me. Also the solution. I have a square embroidery frame that has slits in the long dowels. I can thread my cords on those and tape them down so they can’t migrate, set the frame vertically instead of horizontally and voila! Sewing frame.

Now. My other problem has been trimming the pages. I had thought to use the guillotine on each signature but I can’t really do that because I think the action of sewing will change the fore edge. So. I will not buy a plow- that’s a ridiculous expense to lay out for one use. But, looking at the pictures of ploughs- they aren’t anything but a really sharp knife on a jig to keep the cut straight and even.

So what’s wrong with a wood plane? I can use my brass edged boards in the press to protect it, turn them flat side down and shave the edge with my plane.

Eureka.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Eureka!

  1. Anonymous says:

    Brilliant!

Leave a Reply

