Day 1599

I’m back from Libertycon- we actually got back 11 hours ago but I’ve slept most of that. I got up once to let the dogs out and back in, dose Honey, bring in Mom’s paper and answer the ‘phone but I went back to bed.

I got to catch up a little with a lot of old friends… and promised some one on one time to many to really catch up. Which is good but I’m still pretty depressed about the whole thing. I miss Dad a lot, there, and I miss being young and vital- I don’t usually feel so old and frumpy anywhere else. And I miss talking about books- nobody talks about books any more.

Pictures- or it didn’t happen!

Emily and Sam

Emily and Sam at the pool

Photobucket

Emily and Sam

Photobucket

Ditto, Emily hiding

Photobucket

Steampunk party

Photobucket

Photobucket

Jessie

Photobucket

Awesome back art!

Photobucket

More Steampunk

Photobucket

Photobucket

Photobucket

Photobucket

Photobucket

Photobucket

Photobucket

Dan Caldwell

Dan Caldwell- sooo glad I got to see him!

No pictures of Huxter’s Alley- it was a dreadful set-up although I think it was the best that could have been done with the space that we had- and obviously no pictures of the art show.

I’m not saying I didn’t have a good time- I did. But there were several people I missed quite a lot- Dad, Ken Moore and Wilson Bob Tucker so there were moments when I felt a bit like this was a personal wake for me for them. I really didn’t go through the Art show as carefully as I would have liked either- I still felt too responsible about keeping up with Emily.

We will be going back evry year unless something drastic happens that prevents us. This is more like a high school reunion than a high school reunion would be!

This entry was posted in Come for a walk with me and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to Day 1599

  1. Anonymous says:

    I’m glad you had a good time overall, but sorry you were missing folks. You want to talk books, you should go to one of Lee’s ApolloCons in Texas! Nobody talked anything else.

    Jaysus, Emily is a teenager.

    • Anonymous says:

      Yes, she is.

      I couldn’t go to an out of town convention until I solve the problem of who’s going to care for the animals while I’m gone. I had to leave and come check on Mom and let the dogs out while I was there.

      • Anonymous says:

        I wasn’t seriously suggesting ApolloCon. It’s too fucking hot. You would have made friends, though. I just sort of skulked around.

        You need an RV! Just a small one. You could stuff your mom and Em and the dogs and the cats in the back of it, and go wherever you wanted. It might be smelly, though.

  2. zenkitty_714 says:

    I’m glad you had a good time overall, but sorry you were missing folks. You want to talk books, you should go to one of Lee’s ApolloCons in Texas! Nobody talked anything else.
    Jaysus, Emily is a teenager.

    • wren08 says:

      Yes, she is.
      I couldn’t go to an out of town convention until I solve the problem of who’s going to care for the animals while I’m gone. I had to leave and come check on Mom and let the dogs out while I was there.

      • zenkitty_714 says:

        I wasn’t seriously suggesting ApolloCon. It’s too fucking hot. You would have made friends, though. I just sort of skulked around.
        You need an RV! Just a small one. You could stuff your mom and Em and the dogs and the cats in the back of it, and go wherever you wanted. It might be smelly, though.

Leave a Reply

