Adventures in edge gilding

There has GOT to be a way to do this that doesn’t take so much gilt, that is fool proof and that is possible to do at home. I just haven’t found it yet.

So far I have tried:

Egg glair without heat- not so good

Egg glair with heat- better but not great- I still have bare spots

PVA & water glair with heat- BAD BAD BAD idea

PVA & water glair without heat- better than anything else but I am still ending up with a few bare spots.

The bitch of it is that I can make it come out almost perfect… on a cheap paperback. But on a decent book? Not so much. I wonder if the pulp paper absorbs the glair better or something. Maybe if I tried it without the bole?

Back to the gilding table…

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

