Day 1496

Mom is improving. Yesterday she sat up in the living room for three hours- long enough to read the newspaper- and is in better spirits in consequence. Part of that, I am sure, is that I stayed with her the whole time. It wasn’t all bad for me either- I took my quilt and got more done in that three hour window than I have manged to get done for the rest of the week. I expect that she is going to be very sore today- all those unused muscles- but it’s a real and distinct improvement.

I’m still dealing with my right shoulder trying to wadd up on me again. So far, I have managed to keep the level down to ‘hurts, but can be used; as opposed to ‘spasming and have to dope up on a muscle relaxer’.

Friday I got four of the five patterns for the Forest quilt. The other pattern? The company I ordered it from emailed me to let me know that they were out of stock, wouldn’t have any more and were canceling my order. I have no idea how I’ll get that pattern now. *pouts* I also got the fabrics for one of the other blocks. I had only ordered the fabric… but they included the pattern too (without charging me for it) so now I have two of that pattern. So I guess I won’t be starting on the quilt until I can find the missing pattern.

Friday I also did laundry. While I was taking clothes out of the washer and putting them in the dryer, I kept finding money. Not little money either… $20s- several of them and a $100 bill. Then it downed on me- I’d gotten my paycheck cashed, stuck it in my pocket and forgot about it. So I laundered my money.

Work on Friday was a beast. I cut fruit all day which meant I spent all day in the cooler… and we had an auditor there so I had to keep the fan on. And I was doing something I was absolutely not supposed to do- cut ahead for the next day. The we were out of supplies as well as out of berries. Emily called about 3 to tell me she’d forgotten her keys and was locked out of the house… and as I was finishing up, one of the girls from up font came flying back to tell me that they had a “corsage emergency” and the florist had gone home early. So somehow that devolved on me too.

Sunday I fried okra by request. It turned out pretty well- eventually. The first batch I burned so badly that the house still smells like smoke and the yard (where I dumped the pan of smoking oil and homemade charcoal) reeks as well. Some things I was just not meant to cook.

Emily is on Fall break this week. Since Mom is not able to watch her, she will be staying here by herself. I expect that she will spend far too much time on the internet and not nearly enough doing anything else… but she is 13 so I’m less nervous than I would have been a couple of years ago. She has promised me that she will confine her cooking while I’m at work to the microwave and leave the stove alone so there is that.

It does make my schedule a lot easier. I don’t have to leave the house until 7:30 and I only have myself to get ready. I won’t have the hour to quilt before work but because I can sleep a bit later, I don’t actually have to take a nap before helping Mom get to bed… so I’ll have my evenings. This is better.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

