Day 1451

Yesterday was Emily’s birthday- we had a pizza party and cupcakes but many of the friends she invited could not come. So we have massive amounts of leftover cupcakes as I got one for everyone who might be coming. I must say, I put RSVP on the invitations but people have no manners anymore and only one person thought it necessary to actually respond.

After her party, we went shopping. The Christmas shopping is now all done for both of us and I got us an impulse ‘gift’ for the two of us.

tiny mouse
Tiny Mouse Yixing teapot

I say it’s for the two of us because she will inherit it and Yixing tea pots are the kind that need to have tea made in them frequently to keep them seasoned. But since they also pick up the flavors of the tea you make in them, only one type of tea should be made in a pot. So now I have a bit of a dilemma- do I make Earl Grey- which is heavily flavored with bergamot but is also my go-to tea or do I go more traditional and make an unflavored Oolong or Black tea in it? I need to make up my mind before I use the teapot- or even finish seasoning it as tea goes into the water for the second seasoning. We learned about them in the BBC Sherlock episode “The Blind Banker”.

I picked the mouse because it was so cute- it fits in the palm of your hand- and because Emily and I have a running gag going where I say “Cheese?” in a high pleading voice and she responds with “No Cheese!” in a really rough voice. It comes from her favorite comedian and can be found at about 3:10 in this video-

I’ve also been wanting to make a new pie recipe I found:


Fruits of the Forest Pie

1/3 cup coarsely chopped macadamia nuts
1/3 cup chopped hazelnuts
1 unbaked pastry shell (9 inches)
1/2 cup salted cashew halves
1/2 cup pecan halves
1/3 cup slivered almonds
4 eggs
1 cup light corn syrup
1/2 cup sugar
1/4 cup packed brown sugar
2 tablespoons butter, melted
1 teaspoon pure vanilla extract
1/4 teaspoon salt

Sprinkle macadamia nuts and hazelnuts into the pastry shell. Arrange cashews, pecans and almonds over the chopped nuts.
In a small bowl, beat the eggs, corn syrup, sugars, butter, vanilla and salt until well blended. Pour over nuts.
Bake at 350° for 45-50 minutes or until a knife inserted near the center comes out clean. (Cover edges with foil during the last 10 minutes to prevent overbrowning if necessary.) Cool on a wire rack. Store in the refrigerator. Yield: 8 servings.

But I keep thinking how expensive such a pie will be… and if I make pie I will eat pie and I don’t need to eat pie.

Today is my day for Christmas decorating- which here means hang the wreaths on the doors and set out an advent calender. I need to make a shelf for the calender that hangs by a ribbon so I can put it where the Halloween advent calender usually hangs.

I’ve gotten some amazing ties now for my quilt. One I ordered for the bow ties just because I liked the pattern… and it was 1¢ plus shipping. Also, this ebay seller has lots of cheap silk ties and I wanted to order one to see if he was legitimate before I ordered any planning to give them away as gifts. Um. I got my tie yesterday and it’s an Armani. It was not advertised as such anywhere in the auction- just as a ‘new silk tie’ so I don’t think it’s a knock off. I mean- why sell a knock off and never mention who it’s supposed to be made by? It might be a second or old stock… but since I want it for the fabric, it hardly matters to me. He’s got another one here but I have to warn you, it’s a rather bright shade of orange.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

