Day 1424 Happy New Year!

I have only one resolution for this year. In the words of my friend Jim-

“Don’t should all over yourself.”

This year I am going to try and take that to heart and not stress out over things I ‘should’ be doing or ‘should’ do. I’m going to give myself a pass to be guilt-free to be tired and not feel like doing the laundry tonight if I don’t have to or I’m running late and don’t have the time to do the exercises I ‘should’ do in the mornings.

I have far too many things that I ‘have to’ do- the ‘should do’ s can take a short walk off a long pier.

Having said that, there are things I would like out of this year. I would like to loose weight. I would like to stop smoking. Both these things take some effort and more than a little pre-planning but they end up being more a matter of ‘should not’ than of ‘should’. ‘Should not’, I can handle- it’s not something more that I just don’t have any time for… and I am not going to make any resolutions about it because that makes it into a ‘should’.

I’m glad that the tail end of the year is over. I always feel strange between Christmas and New Year because that week doesn’t seem like it belongs anywhere. It’s not the new year yet… but the old year is really already gone, really, and I never seem to be able to do much more that fly a holding pattern in that week.

Pixel is being a complete putz- he comes and asks me for something to eat and I give him fresh food… and he walks away. It doesn’t matter if it is dry or canned or some of both or anything- he just walks away and lets the other cats eat it all. I can’t give him anything to help him if he won’t eat it! I found some cat treats that help with arthritis- and he won’t even look at them. I have three other cats and a dog- there is no way I can put food out for him and not have them eat it. I can’t spend half my day trying to get him to eat something or nursing him and he’s going to have to meet me half way.

I took Emily to World Market yesterday so she could buy Pocky… and while I was there, I found black truffle oil at a not unreasonable price. I’d love to experiment with truffles but there’s no way I could afford to- this way I can experiment with the flavor if not with the actual mushroom.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

