Day 1100 Coffee and Tide Pods or I really don’t think in straight lines

coffee love iconThing eight: I’m grateful for coffee.

I really am, I don’t know how I would get through my life without coffee. In spite of my love affair with coffee, it is not the best drink. Tea is more civilized, cola is more refreshing, wine is more social, hot chocolate is more comforting, orange juice and water are more healthy. But I could get through my day (and often do) without any of them and I find it impossible to get through my day without coffee. (Technically, I can get through the day, abet uncomfortably. It’s the rest of the world that needs me to have coffee lest I blow it up or something.)

So what is it about coffee? Ok, first is the caffeine addiction to which I readily admit. Bust aside from that, coffee may not be as civilized as tea… but it’s civilized. It may not be as social as wine… but it’s social (and non-alcoholic which has the advantage of being something you can drink before work). It may not be as comforting as hot chocolate… but it’s comforting. So it’s a real workhorse of a drink- a little bit of everything without being the most of anything. Added to that, coffee, of itself, has no calories (if you add milk and sugar that’s your look-out) so it makes an ideal go-to drink for almost any occasion.

Maybe it’s no wonder I love coffee.

*************************************************************************************************************

Tide (laundry detergent) has come out with something new. It’s a plastic (I guess it’s plastic) ball with liquid detergent inside. The theory is that you toss it in the washing machine along with the clothes and it’s just the right amount of detergent.

On the surface, this looks brilliant- no measuring!- but then I stopped and thought about it. These things are all the same size- all my loads of clothes are not the same size. I have a huge load once a week of sheets and towels and a much much smaller load euphemistically termed ‘delicates’ and several loads of regular clothes in between.

So which one of these is this ball sized for? Is is super-sized like almost everything else in America for my sheets-and-towels load? Is it meant for tiny, tiny loads like my delicates load? Something in the middle?

So even if you’re so OCD that your loads are the same size from week to week, it’s a certain thing that they won’t be all the same size from load to load. So this ‘pod’ will be too much for some loads and not enough for others and no way to change the amount. Perhaps Tide will come out with different sizes… and then brings up the problem of having too many ‘small’ and not enough ‘medium’ or something similar.

Maybe just pouring liquid into a measuring cup lid is simpler after all.

************************************************************************************************************

These are two totally unrelated trains of thought- which I was thinking simultaneously. The hard part was writing them down without being incoherent (to others. It was, of course, perfectly coherent to me.) Thank goodness for computers because if I had been writing this on a typewriter where going back and inserting things is not possible, it would have either been unreadable or I would have wasted a lot of paper and time typing out 18 or so copies. I do not think linearly at all, apparently.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Day 1100 Coffee and Tide Pods or I really don’t think in straight lines

  1. Trent Lewin says:

    I share the love affair with coffee. I resisted it for years but then got suckered in by a coffee-cup type contest and got hooked. Now am onto very nice coffees indeed. In fact, I currently sit in an Italian bakery where there are numerous animated conversations going on around me in Italian, drinking some exceptional cappuccino. You know, I don’t mind this addiction one bit. And always good to find a fellow coffee lover.

    • wren08 says:

      🙂 My favorite just now is Black Cat by Intelligentsia Coffee. It’s not too expensive and it’s a nice general blend- good first thing in the morning, still good after dinner.

Leave a Reply

