Day 1098

Thing ten: Every night when I get into bed, Anna moves and leaves are warm spot for my feet.

Just at the moment, Emily is going through the hair/make-up/clothes obsessed stage. I’m trying to be understanding while still hurrying her through it with as little expense as possible. It’s not that I mind her thinking about such things… but I don’t think it should be ALL she thinks about or the only thing she spends money on. I don’t think she’s going to be happy that way and one can sink a LOT of money into such things without having anything to show for it.

Mostly I need to help her understand that there are ‘costume’ clothes and there are regular clothes… and we can’t spend her entire clothing budget on a costume dress or a velvet cape that’s going to hang in her closet and never get worn because she has no where that they’re appropriate to wear them. Dressing up is all very well- but it doesn’t answer for school or going shopping.

I’m also getting a bit tired of her comparing our house unfavorably to her friends’ houses. I’ve spent a lot of time making this house nice and it feels a bit like a slap in the face. The other thing that annoys me is her constant ‘we can’t afford X because we’re poor’. Ok, I’m not a millionaire- I can’t buy her everything she wants… but mostly because she wants so very much! And most of it is stuff she doesn’t need and wouldn’t use if she had- it’s keeping up with the Joneses.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

