Day 1001

Okay, I won’t be telling stories for the next 1001 days- just so you know.

This weekend was my first of two Christmases. My BFF [info]zenkitty drove down to visit and I got to keep her for two delightful nights. Saturday morning we exchanged gifts (OMG!OMG! so much delight!) and then we went to see the Hobbit in 3D. More squee on that- it was wonderful and I want so very very much to see the next two episodes- and I kept my glasses so I now have Hobbit glasses. (I wonder if I can get them to put my prescription reading lenses in the frames?)

About the Hobbit- I am not disappointed. It does not exactly follow the letter of the book but it does follow the spirit- which is more important. There are things that are drawn from other places in Tolkien’s work to make it more adult and give it context in the realm of middle earth. I’m especially fond of Radagast’s rabbits!

While we were waiting for the movie to start, we watched the previews for other movies. One in particular Emily wants to see called “Warm Bodies”. She went and found the book online last night and I read it- it’s basically Romeo and Juliet except that they’re older and Romeo is a zombie. The movie looks like it will be pretty funny though.

I notice, first, monsters were scary. Ghosts, witches, werewolves, vampires, mummy/zombies. Now? “Ghost” made ghosts romantic, “Practical Magic” made witches sexy (I actually don’t mind that since witches shouldn’t have been scary in the first place.) I won’t go into what “Twilight” has done to vampires and werewolves- though it only put the nail in the coffin, “Buffy” started it. And now we have a romantic comedy where the male lead is a zombie. The only truly scary monster left is the real one: people.

I am now done with baking Christmas cookies but I did do one last batch last night for Emily’s school friend.

Peppermint Meltaways
Peppermint Meltaways

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

