Day 893

I haven’t posted because I’ve been working more for the last few days and when I could have posted, I’ve been too tired to string words together coherently.

Tuesday, I was asked to come in early and work in produce from 8-4 to cover for someone who is out. Ok, no problem. And when I got done there, I asked if they needed me to stay and cover the last hour I was scheduled up front. I was needed so I stayed- which made for a very long day beginning with 50 lb bags of potatoes. Wednesday I was already scheduled to come in at 8 and cut fruit and after that I was needed in produce again.

Don’t get me wrong, I like produce. It’s not difficult but it is a lot of lifting and twisting and turning- more physical than I’m used to. I find it gratifying that I’m not sore, just worn out at the end of the day. (I do know to lift with my legs not my back!) Partly because the goal is to have things full and fresh and pretty… and people buy stuff if it’s full and fresh and pretty and it’s hard to keep ahead of them!

In all cases, I’ve been too tired to post when I got home. Because this is an extended absence, I’ll be in produce today and tomorrow as well and again on Tuesday. This is causing me less stress than it is the poor scheduling manager who is scrambling to find a replacement for me on the front end.

Today is also the day Eliz will be here to pick up her ferrets and move them so I needed to try and launder (again) the blanket that her oldest ferret has under his cage… and I’ll need to wash my sheets so she’ll have clean sheets to sleep in tonight before she gets up and begins to break down the cages in the morning. On the one hand, it will make for a very long day- on the other, I won’t have the ferrets to take care of after this.

With all this going on, I haven’t even tested the hot iron transfer pencils I picked up for the tablecloth embroidery- maybe this morning since I’m not scheduled to go in until 10. I did find something for the St Patrick’s table but I don’t want to post what until it gets here and I can add a picture.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

