Bookbinding ideas….

There’s an awesome copy (or 200) of Ray Bradbury’s Fahrenheit 541 bound in asbestos (!!!)

Source: ebay.com via Gretchen on Pinterest

Sadly, it’s anywhere from $6000 to $20,000… if you can find it for sale.

There’s another one that incorporates a match and the spine is a striker plate:

Wonder if I could combine the 2 ideas? Not asbestos, of course… but carbon fiber or whatever fireman’s uniforms or heat blankets are made out of now.

There’s also an asbestos bound Firestarter:

26 were made, 25 still exist… one lost (amusingly) to a house fire. Obviously they also sell for multiple thousands of dollars.

So what other books should have this kind of binding? Anybody know of any? Or any other odd but truly appropriate bindings? Since I make my own, I don’t feel that I should have to buy them… and I can be as creative as I like.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

