Day 858 You have got to be kidding me…

I was just reading a blog post about a family of four living on $14,000 annually. Phooey.

Not that I don’t believe it- I totally do- I just don’t get how that’s special. My family lives on $14,000 a year because that’s all I make. And I have such things as the diabetic cat with all his expenses and three other cats who get good food instead of junk and lunch money for school and allowance and the list just goes on. And we end up with enough to do things like unplugged events once in awhile and more than a few little luxuries like books and movies. We’re not in debt (ok, I need to pay the phone bill this morning but I only got it Friday), I don’t go out of my way to make a budget and stick to it like glue, I don’t clip a million coupons and I don’t get to do things like make all our bread (even if Emily would eat it, I don’t have that much time). If money were tighter, I might manage to do some of those things… and the luxuries would be fewer… but they don’t have to be right now. If you’re the least bit thrifty and don’t try to keep up with the Jones, $14,000 is a lot of money- lots of families make it on less.

I also saw recently on the national news a report about ‘genius children’. Granted, some of their accomplishments were news worthy but their IQs? Between 140 and 150. Somehow this does not seem worthy of a national news story to me.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

