Day 589

Everybody who knows me knows that I’m a coffee girl. Even people who barely know me know that and most people know my favorite coffee is Intelligencia’s Black Cat.

But lately, I’ve been thinking about tea a lot… and drinking more than usual. Don’t get me wrong, I’m still drinking a lot of coffee- I’m just drinking tea too. When I looked into getting back into my old favorites, I discover that Mellow Mint has been long discontinued and not only can I not get the tea any more, I couldn’t even find a picture of the box. I finally found a picture of an individual bag which listed the ingredients so I’m going to attempt remaking it.

With this in mind, I really wanted to find a copy of the artwork to make a label… so I called the customer service at Celestial Seasonings and a really very nice young man named Darren actually found an old box and emailed me a copy of the art front and back. It’s not the box I remember- this was a tall box and I was remembering the long boxes with the art as the entire front panel- but unless I can find another picture, it will do. It was awesome of him to go hunting for it- the tea has been discontinued for about 30 years and I’m amazed they still had a box sitting around somewhere.

Also the ingredients were not something I could pick up at the store… peppermint leaves, ok, I can find that at any health food store. And licorice root. But comfrey? Papaya leaves? Alfalfa? (This one gave me a laugh- I considered going to the feed and seed for that! And when I told my best friend that the main ingredient was alfalfa, she laughed. She’s always thought herbal teas tasted a bit like hay.) As it turns out, I can get comfrey at my health food store as well- but the papaya and alfalfa will be an on line order.

So now (when my ingredients get here) I have a cooking project and an art project- just to get a tea I thought I’d be able to run down to the store and buy when I wanted it. Thank goodness it’s not likely that Constant Comment or Earl Grey will ever be discontinued!

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

