Lapsang Souchong


Lapsang Souchong (Twinings)

According to some fans, Lapsang Souchong is the tea prefered by Sherlock Holmes. There is no basis for this in the canonical stories but it makes sense that Holmes would prefer a strong black tea with smokey overtones. I, on the other hand, don’t like it much. It’s very unique and I can see why people who prefer it can have no substitute but I simply can’t get past the smokey smell. (It’s more smell than taste- the taste is much less smokey, mild and robust.) A lot of that is personal- besides growing up with a coal furnace, my house partially burned when I was 10 and for absolutely years there would be things that smelled of smoke in the house. It makes me a little ill to my stomach and drags me back to that Christmas that we had nowhere to live. In other words, it’s not a bad tea but it won’t be going in my stash.

Perhaps I should just give up on teas that have anything to do with Sherlock Holmes.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Lapsang Souchong

  1. Pingback: Tea cups and tea | The Virtual Wren

Leave a Reply

