My book is here!

Uncle Remus: His Songs and His SayingsUncle Remus: His Songs and His Sayings by Joel Chandler Harris
My rating: 4 of 5 stars

When reading this book it is important to remember that the objective here was to preserve both legends of a sub-culture and the dialect of the same which was vanishing. If the same book was written today, the dialect would be vastly different and many words and attitudes which simply were products of the time are now terribly offensive. It has to be read in the context of the time.

Having said that, I found to stories just as pithy and funny as I did when I was small… although I am seeing some things I never noticed as a child. I think everyone should read this book at least once.

View all my reviews

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to My book is here!

  1. dan bostaph says:

    Did the snail leave slime on the book?

Leave a Reply

