New teas!

Actually, I shouldn’t have been quite so excited- neither of them is very good.

The first one is Harney and Sons’ Paris tea.

3 min at 212°

This complex tea is the blend of three teas, the leaves are black and natural flavors are added to create this spectacular tea. The liquor is medium to dark brown. This tea smells like an Earl Grey with black currant and vanilla aromas and a hint of caramel. This tea has a medium body. Similar to the aroma, this tea smells sweet like caramel and has a fruity flavor of black currants. You can also taste a hint of vanilla.

I was pretty dubious when I opened the tin and the tea smelled like perfume instead of tea. Well, I have to say, it wasn’t very good. It was not as bad as it smelled like it was going to be but there was still a distinct taste of perfume. Outside of that, it was a mild black tea with nothing to reccommend it. It wasn’t harsh or astringent but it also was not especially smooth. I can’t actually see myself ever voluntarily going back and making a second cup. This tried to be a fancy tea and failed and ruined itself for being anything else. I think I will take it to work and leave it in the break room for someone who will like it better than I do.

The second is Barry’s Irish Breakfast tea.

3 min at 212°

Our lightest and most refreshing signature blend is known for its brisk and lively taste. We select our Original blend from the Assam valley of India and the gardens of Rwanda and Kenya but it’s the bright freshness of the African leaves that make this tea so refreshing. It’s the perfect blend to enjoy anytime of the day.
It’s a good solid black tea that has enough flavor to warrent being a breakfast tea and a bit of astingency to wash the glue out of your mouth in the morning. I won’t buy it again but I won’t be giving it away either.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to New teas!

  1. pinkiebag says:

    Hi, thanks for the honesty in your tea reviews. I have had the Harney & Sons earl grey and was also disappointed by this. I have yet to try Barry’s tea, but think I will give it a miss now, Chloe.
    http://pinkiebag.com/

Leave a Reply

