Technical difficulties- Photobucket issues

Yesterday, I got an email from Photobucket. To whit:

WE NOTICED THAT YOU HAVE BEEN USING
PHOTOBUCKET FOR 3RD PARTY HOSTING*
PLEASE UPGRADE TO A PLUS 500 PLAN.

*What is 3rd Party Hosting?

Photobucket defines 3rd party hosting as the action of embedding an image or photo onto another website. For example, using the tag to embed or display a JPEG image from your Photobucket account on another website such as a forum, Etsy, eBay auction listings, a blog, etc. is definitively 3rd party hosting.

The plan is $400 per year.

Um, really? This is a change in policy on their part. I have a Photobucket account specifically to host pictures for my journal. Hence, I currently have no pictures hosted on Photobucket showing up here. I am in the process of migrating all my photos elsewhere and will be fixing all the links for the pages but it is a Herculean task and I am a busy person.

I will be fixing all the pages that show up across the top relating to interests and projects but I will not be going back through this whole journal and fixing those photo links. If, for some reason, a person would like to see a picture that was embeded in the journal body, message me in a comment and I will fix that specific picture.

I will be deleting my Photobucket account as soon as I have all the pictures. They have made themselves useless for my needs with this greedy money grab.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

